Auckland Under 17s Win Tasman Cup

By News

Barr Bialik, Luke Jones, Alex Regan, Ryan Martinoli, Flynn Jones, Christian Regan, Zac Snoad, Lochlan Butler, Finlay van Mulbregt, Antony Logan, Thomas Hornby, Rory Johnston, Ethan Doeg, Jake McIntyre, Luke Simon, Fraser Tam, Cameron Sims. Coach: Csaba Kercso-Magos


The AIHA Under 17 team was invited to take part in a 2 day training camp and Tasman Cup competition during the April School Holidays, held at the Dunedin Ice Hockey Club.

Teams from Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Queenstown and Melbourne attended, in a competition that was fiercely contested to the very end.

Following a three day round robin series, the 4 top teams were within a single goal difference for top spot. The elimination finals saw Dunedin fall from 1st to 4th position with a single goal from Melbourne making the difference.

The competition culminated in the final for top place between Auckland and Melbourne, with Auckland proving too strong in the end with a well-timed final run, taking home the trophy after a hard fought win over Melbourne.
The competition format proved to be very popular with all teams, and Melbourne vowing to return for next year.

Winner of Tasman Cup: AUCKLAND
Second place: Melbourne
Third place: Queenstown
Fourth place: Dunedin
Fifth place: Christchurch

Term 1 School Holiday Programme

By News

Ice Hockey School Holiday Programme

The Term 1 School Holidays are coming up quick, and if you’re sick of the kids at home on the computer all day, why not get them out on the ice having fun!?

School Holiday Programme Details:
Monday 24th – Friday 28th April
Avondale Ice Rink

There are a few different options available as follows:

  • On Ice Training Only – 7:45am – 8:45am – $15.00 per day
  • Full Day Programme – 7:45am – 8:45am On Ice Training + 8:45am – 2:00pm Programme – $45 per day
  • Full Week Programme – 7:45am – 8:45am On Ice Training + 8:45am – 2:00pm Programme – $180 full week

Food and drink is not included, so players will have to supply this themselves.

Booking/More Information:
If you would like to secure a place for your child, please email Csaba at or phone 021 052 5592

Payment can be made via bank transfer to 03-0156-0015612-000 using your child’s name as the reference, or by paying cash on the day.

NZ U18 Women’s Team Win Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia

By News

The New Zealand U18 women’s national team, which competed internationally for the first time, won the 2017 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia, held in Bangkok.

AIHA would like to congratulate all the NZ U18’s players and coaches who competed in the IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia. This was a great result from an awesome bunch of girls and support staff competing in their first internatonal competition.

Safe travels home and we look forward to see you back on the ice in NZ!

AIHA Player Continues NCAA Journey

By News

AIHA player Grace Harrison will continue her NCAA journey this weekend, when St Lawrence University take on Yale, in the first quarter final games of the ECAC knockout. The St Lawrence Saints are second in the ECAC division and ranked fifth nationally. The team winning the ECAC division will battle it out for National honours in the ‘Frozen Four’ competition, to be held in St Louis in mid-March.

In only her second year of NCAA Division I hockey, Grace has started in 29 of the Saints games, achieving 8 shutouts, an average of 1.54 goals per game and a save rate of  92.8%. The Saints have an impressive 24 wins / 4 losses / 4 draws record so far this season.

The first quarter-final game between the Saints and the Yale Bulldogs will start at 12 noon Saturday (NZ time), with free live coverage available at

Results: U10 3×3 Tournament February 18-19

By News

Six teams competed in an U10 tournament over the weekend.

Four teams were represented from Auckland and two from Dunedin. Teams consisted of two lines of three players plus a goalie and played in a round robin format.

The two semi finals were decided by penalty shootouts as was the bronze medal match. However after many goals, a few tears, kids rolling around the ice and many smiles, Dunedin White emerged from the pack as the winning team.

U10 Cross Ice 3×3 Tournament February 18-19

By News

Two teams from Dunedin and four from Auckland will compete this weekend February 18th and 19th at Avondale in an Under 10 cross ice tournament. Teams will be made up of six players and a goalie consisting of two lines of three players each.

Two rounds of games take place on Saturday, the first from 11:30am until 12:45pm and again from 4:30pm until 6:45pm. Just one round will take place on Sunday from 8:45am until 10:15am.

Take a break and come along and to support the future of NZ Ice Hockey!

Auckland Steel – Fantastic Finals Weekend

By News

The Auckland Women’s rep team, the Auckland Steel, finished the season as gold medallists without dropping a single point throughout the whole season. Although they went into finals weekend certain of the first place, the team were determined not to let this influence the way they played each game, and it paid off.

The overall goal difference was +104 (123 for and only 19 goals against).

Four of the top five scoring leaders are from Auckland, as are four of the top five goal scoring leaders and three of the top five assist leaders, with six of the top 10.  An amazing nine of the ten top plus/minus leaders are from Auckland with the No. 1, Anjali Thakker having +68. Not bad over 12 games.

Equally positive is the fact that no Auckland player featured in the top ten most penalised players.

In his over 25 years of coaching experience, Head Coach Andy Kaisser has never managed to coach any team without losing a single game over an entire season.

Auckland Steel

Back row left to right: Manager Philippa Kaisser; Alex Hyde; Fuchsia Davidson; Assist Coach Paul Hyde; Hannah Shields (A); Laura Thresher; Tessa Braodbent; Sophie Harold; Lili Hidvegi; Assist Coach Jonathan Albright; Jamie Kaisser; Head Coach Andy Kaisser

Middle Row: Terryn Bruce; Ashley Richmond

Front Row: Jordan Wichman; Shannen Kennedy; Anjali Thakker; Rachael Neville-Lamb; Helen Murray (C); Lochlyn Hyde; Tabitha Crump

Not present: Jana Kivell; Samara Campton; Jasmine Horner-Pascoe