The NZIHL is New Zealand’s national ice hockey league. It is an amateur league that was formed in 2005 to develop the sport in New Zealand and to give the top players regular competition against each other to improve the skill level of the game domestically and make New Zealand more competitive on the international scene.

Because the NZIHL is held during the Northern Hemisphere’s ice hockey offseason, many quality players travel to New Zealand and enjoy an off-season abroad while keeping in ice hockey shape. The competition is comparable to North America’s lowest professional levels, impressive for a southern hemisphere country in the sport of ice hockey.

The New Zealand Ice Hockey Federation is made up of 3 affiliated regions, all of whom are represented in the New Zealand Ice Hockey League with 3 teams from Auckland, 2 teams from Southern and 1 team from Canterbury.

Game tickets are available here:

Auckland Ice Hockey in the NZIHL:

West Auckland Admirals

NZIHL Champions


YearChampionRunner up
2005Southern StampedeWest Auckland Admirals
2006Southern StampedeSouth Auckland Swarm
2007Botany SwarmCanterbury Red Devils
2008Botany SwarmCanterbury Red Devils
2009Canterbury Red DevilsSouthern Stampede
2010Botany SwarmWest Auckland Admirals
2011Botany SwarmSouthern Stampede
2012Canterbury Red DevilsSouthern Stampede
2013Canterbury Red DevilsDunedin Thunder
2014Canterbury Red DevilsDunedin Thunder
2015Southern StampedeCanterbury Red Devils
2016Southern StampedeCanterbury Red Devils
2017Southern StampedeWest Auckland Admirals
2018West Auckland AdmiralsSouthern Stampede
2019Southern StampedeWest Auckland Admirals
2020Season not playedSeason not played