Auckland Under 17s Win Tasman Cup

By May 8, 2017November 28th, 2018No Comments

Barr Bialik, Luke Jones, Alex Regan, Ryan Martinoli, Flynn Jones, Christian Regan, Zac Snoad, Lochlan Butler, Finlay van Mulbregt, Antony Logan, Thomas Hornby, Rory Johnston, Ethan Doeg, Jake McIntyre, Luke Simon, Fraser Tam, Cameron Sims. Coach: Csaba Kercso-Magos


The AIHA Under 17 team was invited to take part in a 2 day training camp and Tasman Cup competition during the April School Holidays, held at the Dunedin Ice Hockey Club.

Teams from Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Queenstown and Melbourne attended, in a competition that was fiercely contested to the very end.

Following a three day round robin series, the 4 top teams were within a single goal difference for top spot. The elimination finals saw Dunedin fall from 1st to 4th position with a single goal from Melbourne making the difference.

The competition culminated in the final for top place between Auckland and Melbourne, with Auckland proving too strong in the end with a well-timed final run, taking home the trophy after a hard fought win over Melbourne.
The competition format proved to be very popular with all teams, and Melbourne vowing to return for next year.

Winner of Tasman Cup: AUCKLAND
Second place: Melbourne
Third place: Queenstown
Fourth place: Dunedin
Fifth place: Christchurch